Marijuana laws by state are changing rapidly across the US, and at times things can be quite confusing. To avoid this confusion, people need to keep abreast of the latest US marijuana laws to avoid getting on the wrong side of the law.
While some states are yet to decriminalize the use and growing of marijuana, those that allow it impose limitations basing on the cannabidiol content in the weed. Here is helpful information on marijuana laws by state in the US.
Legal medical marijuana states: Recreational and Medical
Some states allow legal use of marijuana for recreational and medical use but impose restrictions on the number of marijuana plants one can grow and the amount of weed one can own. These states include the following:
- Alaska: Allows a possession limit of 1 oz per person while growers have a growing limit of 6 plants, out of which only three can be mature at any given time.
- California: This state allows the growth of up to 6 mature pot plants 12 immature plants at any given time, but each individual can only possess up to 8 oz of weed.
- Colorado: Lets individuals own up to 2 oz, and planters can have a maximum of 6 plants with only three allowed to be mature at any time in their life cycle.
- Maine: This state allows people to have a maximum of 2.5 oz and grow no more than six plants. It has no limitation on the number of mature plants at any given time.
- Massachusetts: People in this state cannot grow marijuana at all but can access up to 2 month’s supply of weed for personal consumption.
- Nevada: Nevada allows individuals within its borders to grow up to 7 cannabis plants, out of which only three can be mature while the rest are immature. This state allows people to have a maximum of 1 oz each.
- Oregon: This state has one of the biggest marijuana limits in the US, allowing the cultivation of up to a whopping 24 weed plants, but only 6 of them should be allowed to mature at any given time. Individuals can own up to 24 oz.
- Washington: People can grow a maximum of 15 marijuana plants, and there is no limitation on the number of plants allowed to mature. Individuals can hold up to 24 oz of pot in this state.
Legal medical marijuana states: Medical Only
An analysis of the US marijuana laws reveals that some states allow the use and cultivation of marijuana for medical use only. Any other use would be contriving the state laws and would attract criminal proceedings. These states are as follows:
- Arizona: People in Arizona can grow up to 12 plants, without restrictions on the number of them that should be mature. The law also allows them to own a maximum of 2.5 oz of weed.
- Connecticut: There is no growing limit in this state, but individuals can enjoy a 1-month supply of cannabis.
- District of Columbia: Cannabis consumers can have a maximum of 2 oz of the dried pot.
- Delaware: Users can have up to 6 oz of weed.
- Hawaii: Users can possess up to 3 oz of the pot and plant a maximum of 7 weed plants, with only three allowed to mature at any time during their life cycle.
- Illinois: People in this state can have a maximum of 2.5 oz per 14-day period.
- Maryland: The laws in this state allow only a 1-month supply of marijuana for medical use only.
- Michigan: Individuals in this state can grow a maximum of 12 plants and own up to 2.5 oz of weed.
- Montana: People in Montana can have a maximum of 1 oz and plant up to 16 plants, but only 4 of them should be mature while the rest are seedlings.
- New Hampshire: Regulations in New Hampshire allow people to possess up to 2.5 oz per 14-day period.
- New Jersey: Individuals are allowed to own a maximum of 2 oz for medical use only.
- New Mexico: State laws permit people to plant a maximum of 16 marijuana plants, but only four can be mature at any given time.
- New York: People in New York can have a 30-day supply of non-smokable pot for medicinal purposes.
- Ohio: Cannabis consumers can possess a 90-day supply for their health.
- Pennsylvania: Weed consumers can hold up to a 30-day supply of marijuana.
- Rhode Island: People can grow a maximum of 12 plants and own up to 2.5 oz of the pot.
- Vermont: Individuals can cultivate a maximum of 9 weed plants, but only two should be mature at any given time.
Final Thoughts on US Marijuana Laws By State
Marijuana users need to understand the marijuana laws governing each state to avoid getting into trouble with the authorities. Contact us if you need more information on US marijuana laws, or drop a comment in the box below.